Stirling’s MSYPs Announced

Zac Mickel, aged 16 from Stirling High School and Sophie Kerrigan, aged 16 from Wallace High School were elected out of nine candidates to represent the Stirling constituency.

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament, also known as MSYPs, are aged between 14 and 25. They are democratically elected every two years – two each for every Scottish Parliament constituency.

Commenting on their election, Zac said: “I’m so delighted to have been elected – especially up against such impressive competition. I’m looking forward to the next two years with the Scottish Youth Parliament and I’m 100% positive that Sophie and I will make sure that no voice is left unheard. We are absolutely committed to doing our very best for Stirling’s young people.”

Sophie added: “I’m so happy that I get to embark on this journey and I am excited as well as eager on what’s to come next.”

The successful candidates will act as MSYP Elects until Thursday 1 February 2024 when they will transition to Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament as their new membership term begins.

Following this, MSYPs will then undergo a period of training and development in early 2024 before going on to select their national campaign priorities for the 2024/25 term. They replace Fraser Cronin and Matthew Crossan who were previously elected for the Stirling constituency in 2021.

Other content you might be interested in


What is the UNCRC?

Find out what the UNCRC is, what it does and what it means for children and young people all over…

What is the UNCRC?
HIDE PAGELeave this site quickly
Back to top of the page