Members of the Scottish Youth Parliment

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliment

Members of the Scottish Youth Parliment

The Scottish Youth Parliament is a youth-led and rights-based organisation that is passionate about making young people aware of their rights and ensuring that local and national governments uphold their rights. They are committed to being truly inclusive and work tirelessly to ensure policymakers and politicians hear the voices of young people from every community and background in Scotland whilst staying independent from all political parties. You can learn more about the Scottish Youth Parliament at


Here in North Lanarkshire, we have 9 MSYPs that represent the views of our young people:


Airdrie and Shotts:                      Kian Toal and Joe Irvine

Coatbridge and Chryston:            Damien Gordon and Anna Porteous

Cumbernauld and Kilsyth:            Emma Prach and Shafa Waqas

Motherwell and Wishaw:              Giuliana McCaveny and Aayla Aquas

Uddingston and Bellshill:              Ash McGuire


Three times a year, MSYPs from across the country come together at SYP Sittings to propose, discuss, and vote on policy that SYP (if passed) will adopt and work to make a reality in Scotland. They are also an opportunity for MSYPs to develop new skills at workshops and to share thoughts and ideas in informal and formal spaces.


In July 22 North Lanarkshire MSYPs hosted the first in person Scottish Youth Parliament Sitting since October 2019 within Greenfaulds High School.

Other content you might be interested in

All ages

Get Involved in #MakeTimeTo

Find out how you can get involved in the latest #AyeFeel campaign; #MakeTimeTo. From ideas to support your mental health…

Get Involved in #MakeTimeTo
HIDE PAGELeave this site quickly
Back to top of the page